\’Race against time\’ as more European countries detect Omicron cases

Denmark became the latest European country to confirm cases of new COVID-19 variant Omicron on Sunday.

Danish health authorities said they had registered two cases in travellers from South Africa

It comes after the Netherlands, Germany, the Czech Republic, Italy, the UK and Belgium also announced that they had detected cases of the new coronavirus strain.

French Health Minister Olivier Veran said that, while his country had no confirmed cases yet, \”it is probable that there currently are cases in circulation.\”

Speaking at a press conference on Sunday, European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen said a \”race against time\” was underway to tackle the Omicron variant.

13 cases confirmed in Netherlands

The Dutch public health authority confirmed Sunday that 13 people who arrived in the Netherlands on flights from South Africa on Friday have so far tested positive for the new Omicron coronavirus variant.

The 61 people who tested positive for the virus on Friday after arriving on the last two flights to Amsterdam’s Schiphol airport before a flight ban was put in place were immediately put into isolation while sequencing was carried out to establish if they had the new variant.

The public health institute said in a statement that testing was continuing on the samples.

Most of the 61 people who tested positive were put into isolation at a hotel near the airport, while a small number were allowed to sit out their quarantine at home under strict conditions.

Health authorities appealed to all travellers who returned from southern Africa in the past week to get tested and set up a test centre at Schiphol Airport for Dutch citizens returning from the region. The tests are voluntary, and travellers can wait for the results in isolation at home.

UK imposes new travel curbs

The UK announced that a third case of Omicron was detected on Sunday.

The country had initially reported two confirmed cases that Health Secretary Sajid Javid said were \”linked and there is a connection with travel to southern Africa.\”

The infections of the new variant, which preliminary evidence suggests might be highly transmissible and more resistant to current treatment, including vaccines, prompted Prime Minister Boris Johnson to tighten entry requirements.

\”We\’re not going to stop people travelling but will require anyone who enter the UK to take a PCR test by the end of the second day after their arrival and to self-isolate until they have a negative result,\” Johnson said during a press conference on Saturday afternoon.

Javid had earlier said on Twitter that the two infected people are self-isolating with their households and contact tracing is being carried out.

\”As a precaution we are rolling out additional targeted testing in the affected areas – Nottingham and Chelmsford – and sequencing all positive cases,\” he added.

He also announced that Malawi, Mozambique, Zambia and Angola have been added to the country\’s travel red list, alongside South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Namibia and Zimbabwe which were added earlier this week.

It means travellers from these countries must book a stay in a quarantine hotel.

Johnson also said that contacts of suspected Omicron cases will be asked to self-isolate for 10 days regardless of their vaccination status and that requirements on face coverings in shops and public transport will be tightened.

The \”temporary and precautionary\” new rules will be reviewed in three weeks.

Germany, Italy, Belgium, Czech Republic also report Omicron cases

The total number of cases in Germany raised to three on Sunday, according to information released by health officials in the state of Hesse

Two confirmed Omicron infections were initially reported by the Bavarian Health Ministry on Saturday.

The two infected people returned from South Africa on November 24 and have been placed in self-isolation. The health authorities of Germany\’s southeastern lander called on passengers from the same flight to report to their local health authorities as soon as possible and for anyone who visited South Africa within the past two weeks to do a PCR test.

Italy\’s Higher Institute of Health (ISS) also announced on Saturday evening that a first case of the Omicron variant had been detected in Italy in a person who had recently been in Mozambique.

\”The patient and his family members are in good health,\” it said in a statement.

The Czech Republic also detected a first case of the new strain on a COVID-19 patient. The woman is hospitalised with light symptoms in Liberec, in the north of the country.

They come a day after Belgium became the first European Union member state to report a case from a traveller returning from Egypt.

Dutch authorities are meanwhile sequencing samples from 61 passengers from two planes returning from South Africa on Friday and who tested positive for COVID-19.

EU member states on Friday closed their borders to travellers from seven Southern African countries — Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe — because of the variant.

The decision came hours before the World Health Organisation (WHO) gave the variant, first known as B.1.1.529, its name and labelled it a \”variant of concern\”.

The United Nations\’ health agency stressed that \”preliminary evidence suggests an increased risk of infection\” with experts also worried that the variant\’s \”large number of mutations\” make it more immune to current treatment, including vaccines.

Other countries to have imposed travel restrictions with southern African countries include Canada, and the US.

Bitcoin Casino
bitcoin casino india
bitcoin gambling
keonhacai hôm nay
link dang ky k8
link vào k8
Bitcoin Gambling
Bitcoin Casino India
Btc Gambling
Bitcoin Lottery
Bitcoin Gambling news
Bitcoin Sportsbook
Bitcoin Poker Reddit
keonhacai hôm nay
trang cá cược bóng đá
kèo nhà cái
link vào k8